Faculty Associates

CFR Faculty Associates are part-time, full-time or emeritus faculty members at York University, or elsewhere. They are engaged in research in the field and are expected to participate in the intellectual life of the Centre.  For York faculty members (tenured, emeritus, tenure-track, or contractual), membership is by invitation or application for a five-year term, using criteria approved by the Executive, if any.

For faculty members at other universities, membership is either through invitation, or by application, and requires substantive and continuing participation in the intellectual life of the Centre. Appointments of faculty external to York are made for up to three years, renewable, by the Executive Committee, according to criteria approved by the Executive, if any.

CFR Membership Application: Faculty Associates (Word doc; fill out and email)

CFR Membership Application: Faculty Associates (PDF; print and deliver)

Faculty Associates in the School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies at York University

Linda Briskin
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies & Department of Social Science
Faculty of LA&PS
lbriskin@yorku.ca

Any Marie-Gerard Francois
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Glendon College
amgfranc@yorku.ca

Marlene Kadar
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies & Department of Humanities
Faculty of LA&PS
mkadar@yorku.ca

Jan Kainer
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies & Labour Studies Program
Faculty of LA&PS
jkainer@yorku.ca

Frances Latchford
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Faculty of LA&PS
flatch@yorku.ca

Patricia McDermott
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies & Department of Social Science
Faculty of LA&PS
patmcd@yorku.ca

Ruby Newman
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Faculty of LA&PS
rnewman@yorku.ca

Zoe G. Newman
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
znewman@yorku.ca

Janice Newton
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies & Department of Political Science
Faculty of LA&PS
jnewton@yorku.ca

Bobby Noble
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Faculty of LA&PS
bnoble@yorku.ca

Andrea O’Reilly
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Faculty of LA&PS
aoreilly@yorku.ca

Ester Reiter
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Faculty of LA&PS
ereiter@yorku.ca

Louise Ripley
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies & School of Administrative Studies
Faculty of LA&PS
lripley@yorku.ca

Ann (Rusty) Shteir 
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies & Department of Humanities
Faculty of LA&PS
rshteir@yorku.ca

Marc Stein
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies & Department of History
Faculty of LA&PS
mrstein@yorku.ca

Ethel Tungohan
Department of Political Science
Faculty of LA&PS
tungohan@yorku.ca

Cheryl Van Daalen-Smith
School of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies, School of Nursing, & Department of Humanities
Faculty of LA&PS
cvandaal@yorku.ca

Faculty Associates in Other Departments and Faculties at York University

Vijay Agnew
Department of Social Science
Faculty of LA&PS
vagnew@yorku.ca

Vermonja Alston
Department of English & Department of Humanities
Faculty of LA&PS
valstone@yorku.ca

Pat Armstrong 
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
patarmst@yorku.ca

Isabella Bakker
Department of Political Science
Faculty of LA&PS
icbakker@yorku.ca

Himani Bannerji
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
himanib@yorku.ca

Deborah Barndt
Faculty of Environmental Studies
dbarndt@yorku.ca

Amelie Barras
Department of Social Science
Faculty of LA&PS
abarras@yorku.ca

Kym Bird
Department of English
Faculty of LA&PS
kbird@yorku.ca

Deborah Brock
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
dbrock@yorku.ca

Elizabeth Cohen 
Department of History
Faculty of LA&PS
ecohen@yorku.ca

Barbara Crow 
Department of Communication Studies
Faculty of LA&PS
bacrow@yorku.ca

Roopa Desai-Trilokekar
Faculty of Education
rdtrilokekar@edu.yorku.ca

Sheila Embleton  
Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Faculty of LA&PS
embleton@yorku.ca

Caitlin Fisher
Department of Cinema & Media Arts
School of the Arts, Media, Performance and Design
caitlin@yorku.ca

Michael A. Gilbert 
Department of Philosophy
Faculty of LA&PS
gilbert@yorku.ca

Wenona Giles
Department of Anthropology
Faculty of LA&PS
wgiles@yorku.ca

Luin Goldring 
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
goldring@yorku.ca

Andil Gosine
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
andil@yorku.ca

Alison Griffith 
Faculty of Education
agriffith@edu.yorku.ca

Shubhra Gururani
Department of Anthropology
Faculty of LA&PS
nhalifax@yorku.ca

Ratiba Hadj-Moussa 
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
rhm@yorku.ca

Nancy Viva Davis Halifax
School of Health Policy & Management
Faculty of Health
nhalifax@yorku.ca

Eve Haque 
Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Faculty of LA&PS
ehaque@yorku.ca

Jennifer Hyndman 
Department of Social Science & Department of Geography
Faculty of LA&PS
jhyndman@yorku.ca

Didi Khayatt 
Faculty of Education
dkhayatt@edu.yorku.ca

Ann Kim 
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
annkim@yorku.ca

Laura Kwak
Department of Social Science
Faculty of LA&PS
ljkwak9@yorku.ca

Mary Jane Mossman  
Osgoode Hall Law School
mjmossman@osgoode.yorku.ca

Carmella Murdocca
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
murdocca@yorku.ca

David Murray 
Department of Anthropology
Faculty of LA&PS
damurray@yorku.ca

Janice Newson
Department of Sociology
Faculty of LA&PS
janewson@yorku.ca

Shobna Nijhawan
Department of Languages, Literatures & Linguistics
Faculty of LA&PS
shobna@yorku.ca

Ellie Perkins 
Faculty of Environmental Studies
esperk@yorku.ca

Valerie Preston
Department of Geography
Faculty of LA&PS
vpreston@yorku.ca

Barbara Rahder 
Faculty of Environmental Studies
rahder@yorku.ca

Alexandra Rutherford 
Department of Psychology
Faculty of Health
alexr@yorku.ca

Elizabeth Sabiston 
Department of English
Faculty of LA&PS
sabiston@yorku.ca

Miriam Smith
Department of Social Science
Faculty of LA&PS
mcsmith@yorku.ca

Karen Stanworth
Dept. of Visual Art and Art History
School of the Arts, Media, Performance and Design
Faculty of Education
KStanworth@edu.yorku.ca

Yukari Takai 
Department of History
Faculty of LA&PS, Glendon College
ytakai@glendon.yorku.ca

Ana Viseu 
Department of Communication Studies
Faculty of LA&PS
aviseu@yorku.ca

Agnes Whitfield 
Department of English
Faculty of LA&PS
agnesw@yorku.ca

Sandra Whitworth
Department of Political Science
Faculty of LA&PS
sandraw@yorku.ca

CFR Faculty Associates External to York University

Vannina Sztainbok (University of Toronto)